jump to navigation

Round 2 – Manmohan May 28, 2009

Posted by astralwicks in Election, Government, india, Opinion, People, Politics, Thoughts, Writing.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

I before you

I come before you – in the family, in the queue at Andheri or at the theater. I just hate to stand in the line and await my turn. I miss those wonderful days when I just jumped the line and did what I felt like – just like my favourite Sarkaar.

After all to repress is to regress. I spit frequently sitting in my car and auto. I After all, what are a few diseases. They make us stronger – unlike those whiny white or black Europeans weaned on cleanliness.

You think I am all of warts. I am religious – doesn’t that count? I pray day in day out and dump the garbage in the nearby Arabian Sea. Once it was clean, now its black, no make that soot black. God’s will I say. Kalyug at the corner.

I am a large – hearted person you see. I’ll show you. I love my religion and my caste also. People from ‘my’ region are treated with respect when they visit my house. People who pray ‘my’ god fare even better. All my friends eat what I like. Makes for a harmonious dinner table experience. We even – oh let it be. I am not like that.

I am an extremely fair person. After I hoard for myself and my family I distribute largesse to people who are faithful, who fawn and touch my feet. I like these customs – that make people bend down and touch my feet. Such powerful feelings of love overcome me then I cannot tell you. I write poems and scripts based on these.

Karan Johar was right. I correct myself, is right. Its all about loving one’s family – blindly. The country can go up in smoke but my family should be the 1st. In cabinet births, in getting plane and train tickets, in coming out of jail at the earliest, in getting admission to a school or college, lineage is all.

Karunanidhi – the DMK supreme is a man of many quarters. He doesn’t believe in God, has a sense of humor by asking whether Ram and his monkey cohorts were holding engineering diplomas while constructing the bridge to Lanka, writes poems and scripts. You get the picture. He goes on to blackmail the nation and its people for a full week after the elections. Why? Because his blood are not in the cabinet. Or people who suck up to him.

They bargained hard and cost the nation dear. What is 10 days you say? Government formation is as big a task as winning the election. It is but natural for allies to seek their pound of flesh. So not having a working government when a cyclone is marauding through a part of the country is par for the course. Post victory when the entire country is looking for signs of stability and positive cues in times of recession one party goes for the jugular.

By standing firm Manmohan Singh has carried on from his electoral victory in Round 1. Don’t take me for granted – is the message. Respect me, respect the verdict and lets set an example – that the nation is waiting from us. Let us chart a new path. Let us at least try – young and old. The answer as one minstrel said is…

Comments»

1. Vinod Sharma - May 28, 2009

Good, biting sarcasm…but who cares! Theyv’e got the votes and are now dying for the “notes”!

2. astralwicks - May 28, 2009

welcome @vinodji…it’s finally had a ceremonial burial. But cometh the hour cometh the blackmailer.

3. Indyeah - May 31, 2009

brilliant!
as the last one was too but this one surpasses that….

Hope Manmohan Singh does have it in him..

4. Indian Homemaker - June 1, 2009

Another brilliant post Astralwicks.

“I am religious – doesn’t that count? I pray day in day out and ….” and All my friends eat what I like. Makes for a harmonious dinner table experience. touched a chord too…

5. dogstail - June 9, 2009

Sorry Astral for being absent, am back now. Was missing the poetic prose, without knowing what I was missing, till now.

Regards

6. astralwicks - June 10, 2009

@indyeah, @indian & @dogstail – thanks a lot


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

