jump to navigation

Blase is the Way October 30, 2008

Posted by astralwicks in Anger, india, Life, Opinion, Persona, Random, rant, terrorism, World, Writing.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Hey, there has been another one today. I think its time we understand what ‘one’ means. We all know we are not talking about another day of rioting, looting, arson or murder by MNS or hooligans affiliated to other organizations.

I am also not talking about the double hundreds scored by 2 Indian batsmen against Australia – on the same day, in the same test. Did it happen you would turn back and ask? I am talking about the precise orchestration that led to 11 or 12 post – diwali explosions in Assam.

Blasé, you might accuse. Inhuman you will allege. Insensitive you will assert. How simple it is to move on for you people. The young, impatient generation. You who seek fun, frolic, pleasure, instant gratification and then move on. You are careless and callous.

I am scared coming out of the house. I hate crowds. I dislike the fake sense of security that people shroud themselves in and step out. I know it might be waiting for me at any corner. Somebody’s anger is waiting for me. Somebody’s dissatisfaction, poverty, rage, injustice will meet me any uninformed instant and shred me to pieces. Even my mother, back in Jamshedpur, doesn’t warm me nowadays. Both my parents used to repeat – don’t be in a crowd, avoid the malls or festivals.

1 day she said, how does it matter? You might take all the precaution but…we both left the sentence midway, incomplete…trusting in fate or god or whatever to take care of our insecurities.

Will we get used to being scared. Where the mind is without fear, I had read. Freedom will bestow fearlessness I thought, nay, I was sure. And then the world changed around me. Punjab was too far and I was too young. Similarly Jammu and Kashmir. So was the Bog Apple. But not Mumbai. Nowadays the fear follows you…like the plot of a Hollywood potboiler. What has also come true is that the cheesy byline – you can run but cannot hide. Welcome to nowhere in particular.

Comments»

1. gudus - October 31, 2008

I was at the railway station a couple of nights back. And yes, i did wonder when the bomb will explode. Where? The nondescript suitcase sitting next to me? Ah, that would be a quick way to go. Vapourized in a second. So that didn’t worry me. How about a couple of metres away…I’d lose a leg, half my body…yes, that worried me. But what worried me the most was, what if it exploded on the next platform… or behind the car park, a few hundred metres away…what would I do? Would I run the other way? Or will I stay, and head towards the blast. Help, act, when it matters most. What would I do? I didn’t know for sure…that worried me.

2. astralwicks - November 1, 2008

everywhere i go – mall, theater, coffee shop or plain standing in the middle of a crowded road waiting for an auto i am plagued by this fear. i am not joking.


Leave a Reply

